WPBL salary: how much women’s pro baseball players get paid
Short answer: in the 2026 inaugural season, Women’s Pro Baseball League players were paid $300 to $500 per game, according to a league spokesperson (Defector, Aug 19, 2026; Left on Base, May 18, 2026), from a pool of $95,000 per team (Boston Globe, Nov 17, 2025). Housing and living costs in Springfield were covered. 2027 pay has not been announced. Unofficial fan guide; sources linked on every line.
2026 pay, line by line
| Item | 2026 | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Per-game pay | $300–$500 per game | League spokesperson, via Defector, Aug 19, 2026 and Left on Base, May 18, 2026 |
| Team pay pool (“salary cap”) | $95,000 per team for the season, divided per game and based on experience | Boston Globe, Nov 17, 2025; also FanGraphs |
| Living costs | Covered; the league paid for travel to, accommodations in and food for players in Springfield | Defector, Aug 19, 2026; The IX Sports, Sep 24, 2026 |
| Sponsorship share | Players to receive a cut; amount not disclosed | Defector, Aug 19, 2026; Boston Globe, Nov 17, 2025 |
| Contract length | One year; all players became free agents after the season | The IX Sports, Sep 24, 2026 |
| Coaches’ pay | Not disclosed by the league | Defector, Aug 19, 2026 |
FanGraphs estimated before the season that the $95,000 cap worked out to around $6,000 per player, assuming 15-player rosters (FanGraphs). The IX Sports later described the league’s rosters as 17 players (The IX Sports, Sep 24, 2026), so treat any per-player average as a rough estimate — the league has not published individual salaries.
Why the number is small (and what might change)
- Season length: each team played 15 regular-season games from Aug. 1 to Sept. 6, then playoffs (USA Baseball, Sep 29, 2026).
- League finances: Front Office Sports reported CEO Keith Stein said the league raised close to $3.3 million in seed funding (Front Office Sports, Sep 30, 2026).
- Future pay: the league told Defector it is “always focused on maximizing all parts of the player experience and it is the league’s hope that compensation will increase in the future” (Defector, Aug 19, 2026). Nothing specific for 2027 has been announced — see WPBL 2027: what we know.
- Other income: Defector reported that first-round picks Kelsie Whitmore, Mo’ne Davis, Ashton Lansdell and Denae Benites played Banana Ball before the WPBL season, where salaries are “reported to reach into the six figures” (Defector, Aug 19, 2026).
FAQ
How much do WPBL players get paid?
$300 to $500 per game in 2026, according to a league spokesperson quoted by Defector and Left on Base. Living costs were covered and players were promised a cut of sponsorships.
What is the WPBL salary cap?
Each team was paid from a pool of $95,000 for the 2026 season, divided per game and based on experience, the Boston Globe reported.
Do WPBL players have other jobs?
Many do. The IX Sports noted players, coaches and umpires juggled other commitments, and Defector profiled draftees who work full-time jobs.
Which WPBL players played Banana Ball?
Defector named first-round picks Kelsie Whitmore, Mo’ne Davis, Ashton Lansdell and Denae Benites as players who played Banana Ball before the 2026 season.
Sources (opened Oct 4, 2026): Defector, Aug 19, 2026 · Left on Base, May 18, 2026 · Boston Globe, Nov 17, 2025 · FanGraphs · The IX Sports, Sep 24, 2026 · Front Office Sports, Sep 30, 2026 · USA Baseball, Sep 29, 2026
Offseason guide: WPBL 2027: what we know · Tryouts & draft · Player pay · World Cup 2027 · Players · Teams · 2026 playoffs · 2026 standings
Unofficial fan guide — not the WPBL. Every fact above links to its source; if something changed, the official site wins. About.